Activity [Wk 4]: Game Design

This week’s activity proved a little challenging for me. I am not the most technically savvy person when it comes to virtual design or editing (photoshop, software such as this, etc). That being said, I still mostly enjoyed playing around in this program (I used SketchUp). I tried learning the toolbar, but everything was pretty confusing and the tutorials on the side really didn’t explain things well. But, I used my basic understanding of how to use graphic design programs and did my best attempt at creating a 3D chair. Here are a couple pictures of my attempt: Screen Shot 2015-06-21 at 11.28.23 PMScreen Shot 2015-06-21 at 11.32.50 PM

I used to play computer games quite often when I was a kid (games such as Sims), and as I got older, I came to appreciate the design that went into making all of these games. The graphic designers who come up with computer and video games are extremely talented (I can’t even make a simple chair on a free editing software!) This truly is a unique art form and I admire those that are successful in it. I find my chair to be extremely amateur and some of my classmates did an incredible job on their chairs! Each of us has a different skill level with certain art platforms, and I suppose this just isn’t one of my strong skills! I still enjoyed getting to use this software though, it is a much different way to approach art as opposed to just simply drawing, painting, and sculpture.

I also tried to put my chair onto the Cal State Long Beach campus using Google Earth. I tried doing this over and over and over again for about an hour with little to no success, I tried putting it in and the chair showed up on campus, but it was so huge that it took up the entire CSULB campus. I fixed the scaling of the chair in SketchUp, but when I tried plugging it in again, it was no where to be found time and time again. I really wish that this had worked for me in the end, because I worked and worked at it for what seemed like forever. Overall, it was an interesting activity that I enjoyed, and wish I had been able to succeed like the video at.

Leave a Reply

